Résumé : It’s not exactly love at first sight for Tate Collins when she meets the tormented and secretive Miles Archer. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is a mutual physical attraction that can’t be denied. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they might have stumbled on the perfect no-strings arrangement. He isn’t looking for love, and she doesn’t have time for itso that leaves just the sex. What they’ve got could be surprisingly satisfying as long as Tate can stick to the two rules Miles has for her : never ask about the past; don’t expect a future. They think they can handle it, but everything is different when real emotions start to change the equation.
Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

Citation : « I have always enjoyed kissing the girls I’ve kissed in the past but only because I was attractive to them. It didn’t have anything to do with them in particular. When I kissed all the other girls, I felt pleasure. That’s why people enjoy kissing, because it feels good. But when you like kissing someone because of who she is, the diference isn’t found in the pleasure. The difference is found in the pain you feel when you’re not kissing her. It doesn’t hurt when I’m not kissing any of the other girls I’ve kissed. Maybe this explains why falling in love is so damn painful. »

Les + :
– l’alternance des chapitres Tate/Miles
– le côté passé/présent
– les deux personnages principaux

Les – :
– peu de suspense

Mon avis : 18/20
J’ai vraiment beaucoup, beaucoup, beaucoup aimé ce livre. C’était mon premier de Colleen Hoover et je pense en lire d’autres !
Alors certes le livre laisse peu de place au suspense mais l’histoire est tellement prenante que l’on oublie ce côté là.
Les chapitres alternent le point de vue de Tate dans le présent et l’histoire passée de Miles qui apporte les éléments pour comprendre le comportement du personnage. J’ai d’ailleurs adoré les deux personnages. Je les ai vraiment trouvé très réels tous les deux. Pas stéréotypés. Tate, qui ne veut pas s’avouer qu’elle est amoureuse et qui continuera de se faire du mal juste pour quelques minutes avec Miles. Et Miles qui pourrait passer pour un vrai connard à ne se servir de Tate que pour le sexe mais que dès le début on comprend. Au final, il a posé deux règles, c’est Tate qui ne les respecte pas…
Les personnages principaux et secondaires (Corbin et Cap mes préférés), l’ambiance du roman, tout m’a plu. Même le côté mise en page du livre m’a plu (les chapitres de Miles sont centrés et sont des phrases courtes), cependant j’en attendais quand même beaucoup plus de la plume de Colleen Hoover dont on nous rabâche les oreilles depuis des mois.

En bref, un très bon livre qui nous fait vivre une histoire d’amour palpitante.

Merci aux filles du YA Book Circle pour cette belle lecture du mois d’août. 🙂


